Home Music Music News

Weezer Plot Release of Surprise Album, ‘OK Human’

Rivers Cuomo first made mention of the record back in 2019, along with ‘Van Weezer’, which is still on track to arrive in May.

Image of Weezer

Weezer will release "All My Favorite Songs", the first single from 'OK Human', on Thursday.

Atlantic Records

Weezer are on track to release their 14th studio album later this month, announcing the surprise release of OK Human via social media this morning.

The follow-up to 2019’s self-titled record (commonly known as The Black Album), OK Human is set to arrive on January 29th, with first single “All My Favorite Songs” arriving on Thursday.

Of course, while news of this new record seems surprising, OK Human has actually been in the works for quite some time, with frontman Rivers Cuomo going so far as to mention it in an interview back in 2019, just one month on from their surprise-released self-titled covers album (known as The Teal Album).

“It’s inspired by an album from 1970 called Nilsson Sings Newman, Cuomo explained. “It’s all piano-based, but it has a ton of orchestration. We just did the strings at Abbey Road. It’s just gorgeous melodies and extremely eccentric lyrics.”

At the time, Cuomo was discussing the impending release of their record Van Weezer, which is still slated to be released in May of 2021, though, like OK Human, it has been teased for close to two years.

Weezer were on track to visit Australia in 2020 as part of the Hella Mega Tour with Fall Out Boy and Green Day. It currently remains unclear when or if these dates will still take place, or if Weezer might even have their 16th or 17th studio albums under their belt by the time they come back.

OK Human tracklist:

1. All My Favorite Songs
2. Aloo Gobi
3. Grapes Of Wrath
4. Numbers
5. Playing My Piano
6. Mirror Image
7. Screens
8. Bird With A Broken Wing
9. Dead Roses
10. Everything Happens For A Reason
11. Here Comes The Rain
12. La Brea Tar Pits