Home Music Music News

2024 Aotearoa Music Awards: Stan Walker, Tom Scott, The Beths & More Earn Nominations

The Aotearoa Music Awards return after a hiatus in 2023

Stan Walker


Stan Walker and Tom Scott of Avantdale Bowling Club are leading the charge at the 2024 Aotearoa Music Awards with a significant number of nominations each.

Walker has secured nominations in five categories, including Best Solo Artist and Best Māori Artist. His work, which often incorporates te reo Māori, has also earned him a nod for the Te Māngai Pāho Mana Reo award. Walker is also competing in major categories including Album of the Year and Single of the Year.

Tom Scott, a key figure in Aotearoa’s hip hop scene, has also received an impressive eight nominations thanks to his work with both Avantdale Bowling Club and Home Brew.

Power-pop favourites The Beths are also notable nominees, up for three awards including Best Group, where they face strong competition from the likes of Unknown Mortal Orchestra and Tiny Ruins.

The Aotearoa Music Awards, returning after a hiatus in 2023, promises a refreshed format this year. The awards ceremony is set to take place on Thursday, 30th May at Auckland’s Viaduct Events Centre. The event will be streamed live, allowing fans and supporters across the country and beyond to partake in celebrating New Zealand’s musical achievements.

Check out the full list of nominees below. More information about the awards can be found here.

2024 Aotearoa Music Awards – full list of finalists

Te Tino Pukaemi o te Tau | Album of the Year

Avantdale Bowling Club – TREES


Erny Belle – Not Your Cupid

Home Brew – Run It Back

LEISURE – Leisurevision

Marlon Williams – My Boy

Paige – King Clown

Princess Chelsea – Everything Is Going to Be Alright

Stan Walker – All In

The Beths – Expert in a Dying Field

Tiny Ruins – Ceremony

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – V

Te Tino Waiata o te Tau | Single of the Year

Aaradhna – “SHE”

Avantdale Bowling Club – “Friday Night at the Liquor Store”

Corrella – “Blue Eyed Māori”

COTERIE – “Always Beside You” (ft. Six60)

Fazerdaze – “Bigger”

Home Brew – “Run It Back”

Kaylee Bell – “Boots ‘N All”

L.A.B – “Take It Away”

Marlon Williams – “Don’t Go Back”

Mermaidens – “I Like to Be Alone”

Stan Walker – “I AM”

The Beths – “Watching the Credits”

Te Tino Kāhui Manu Taki o te Tau | Best Group

The Beths

Home Brew



Tiny Ruins

Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Te Tino Reo o te Tau | Best Solo Artist

Avantdale Bowling Club


Kaylee Bell

Marlon Williams

Princess Chelsea

Stan Walker

Te Manu Taki Māori o te Tau | Best Māori Artist

Jordyn with a Why



Stan Walker


Tuari Brothers

Te Māngai Pāho Mana Reo Award

COTERIE – “Purea/Cool It Down”

Jordyn with a Why – “He Rei Niho”

MOHI – “Me Pēhea Ra”

Stan Walker – “I AM”

TAWAZ – “He Aho”

Tuari Brothers – “Tuari ki te Ao”

Te Taumata o te Toi | Best Album Artwork

Andrew McLeod – The Coin That Broke the Fountain Floor (Clementine Valentine)

Lily Paris West – Mermaidens (Mermaidens)

Lily Paris West – Expert in a Dying Field (The Beths)

Te Manu Taki Whanokē o te Tau | Best Alternative Artist

Grecco Romank


Princess Chelsea

Te Manu Taki Tuauki o te Tau | Best Classical Artist

Michael Houstoun & Bella Hristova

Natasha Te Rupe-Wilson & Somi Kim

New Zealand String Quartet

Te Manu Taki Tuawhenua o te Tau | Best Country Artist

Kaylee Bell

Matt Joe Gow

The Mitchell Twins

Te Manu Taki Tāhiko o te Tau | Best Electronic Artist




Te Taumata o te Pūkenga Oro | Best Engineer

Amelia Murray & Emily WheatcroftSnape – Break! (Fazerdaze)

Simon Gooding – King Clown (Paige)

Tom Healy & Alexandra Corbett – My Boy (Marlon Williams)

Te Manu Taki Ahurea o te Tau | Best Folk Artist

Adam McGrath

Terrible Sons

Tom Lark

Te Manu Taki Ātete o te Tau | Best Hip Hop Artist

Avantdale Bowling Club

Diggy Dupé

Home Brew

Te Manu Taki Tautito o te Tau | Best Jazz Artist

Clear Path Ensemble

Dave Wilson

Myele Manzanza

Te Taumata o te Ataata | Best Music Video Content

Anahera Parata – “SHE” (Aaradhna)

Connor Pritchard – “All My Friends” (NO COMPLY ft. Wells*)

Marlon Williams – “Don’t Go Back” (Marlon Williams)

Te Manu Taki Arotini o te Tau | Best Pop Artist


Georgia Lines


Te Taumata o te Kaiwhakaputa | Best Producer

Christoph El Truento – TREES (Avantdale Bowling Club)

Haz Beats – Run It Back (Home Brew)

Tom Healy – Ceremony (Tiny Ruins)

Te Manu Taki Rakapioi o te Tau | Best Rock Artist

Dead Favours

Midwave Breaks


Te Manu Taki Taketake o te Tau | Best Roots Artist



Sons of Zion

Te Manu Taki Manako o te Tau | Best Soul/RnB Artist


Dallas Tamaira

Sam V