Home Music Music News

Erny Belle, Tiny Ruins & Home Brew Among Taite Music Prize 2024 Finalists

Princess Chelsea won the coveted Taite Music Prize last year

Erny Belle

Erny Belle

Finn Bowman

Home Brew, Tiny Ruins, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, and Erny Belle are among the nominations for this year’s Taite Music Prize.

Independent Music NZ (IMNZ) announced the 10 finalists for the Taite Music Prize 2024 today, with the winner set to be announced next month on Tuesday, April 23rd. They’ll follow last year’s winner, Princess Chelsea, who triumphed with her acclaimed album, Everything Is Going to Be Alright.

The prestigious award recognises the best New Zealand albums released in the past year, with the winner receiving a cash prize of $12,500 (thanks to founding partner Recorded Music NZ). A voting academy comprised of IMNZ members, musicians, and industry professionals decided the final shortlist.

This year’s ten nominees highlight the variety and diversity of Aotearoa’s current music scene, ranging from homegrown hip hop to shimmering indie folk to metal and punk rock:  

Dick Move – Wet (1:12 Records)
Ebony Lamb – Ebony Lamb (Slow Time Records)
Erny Belle – Not Your Cupid (Flying Nun Records)
Home Brew – Run It Back (Years Gone By)
Mermaidens – Mermaidens (Independent)
Shepherds Reign – Ala Mai (Golden Robot Records)
Tiny Ruins – Ceremony (Ursa Minor)
Tom Lark – Brave Star (Winegum Records)
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – V (Jagjaguwar Records)
Vera Ellen – Ideal Home Noise (Flying Nun Records)

The three nominations for the 2024 Auckland Live Best Independent Debut Award are set to be revealed soon.

At April’s awards ceremony, both of the above awards will be given out alongside the NZ On Air Outstanding Music Journalism Award, IMNZ Classic Record, and the Independent Spirit Award.

“IMNZ is proud to support this year’s finalists. Supporting independent music is vital for a music industry that is creative and diverse. These finalists are representative of the best in our landscape this past year, and we champion them!,” IMNZ Chairperson, Pippa Ryan-Kidd says. 

“Recorded Music NZ are proud supporters of the Taite Music Prize, and we are delighted to once again honour the critical success of artists at the top of their game in partnership with Independent Music NZ,” Recorded Music NZ CEO, Jo Oliver says.