Home Music

SAFIA Release ‘Story’s Start or End’ Live EP to Aid Support Act

Recorded during their 2019 album tour, SAFIA are celebrating the work of their touring crew by donating all profits of the EP to Support Act.

Image of SAFIA performing live

"Without all of the crew and team members working behind the scenes the show would most certainly not go on," SAFIA explain. "So this is the least we could do to give a little back!”

Brayden Smith*

One year on from the release of their second studio album, SAFIA are set to give back to the industry, announcing a new live EP to help benefit Support Act.

Releasing Story’s Start or End on August 9th of 2019, the Canberra trio hit the road to bring their new record to the people. Selling out seven shows and serving as one of their biggest treks to date, the national tour was an unmitigated success, helped extensively by the support of their live crew.

Now, one year later, the music scene is an entirely different place, having been decimated by the global COVID-19 pandemic, which has turned Australia’s live stages into deserted wastelands. To help those affected by these shutdowns, SAFIA have now announced a new live EP which aims to help those affected by the events of 2020.

Featuring five tracks recorded at the Melbourne, Brisbane, and Sydney legs of the band’s 2019 tour, the Story’s Start or End Live EP were mixed by Alex Gooden, who not only mixed the original record, but tours with the band as their FOH engineer.

In addition to celebrating the almost forgotten energy that a band like SAFIA brings to the live stage, the EP aims to celebrate the talents of the countless industry professionals out of work due to COVID-19.

“One of our proudest achievements since starting this band is how we’ve been able to grow our live show into what it is today. We owe this to our crew!” SAFIA explained in a statement. “Over the past few years they have worked tirelessly to help us improve every facet of our show and their unwavering passion and dedication keeps pushing us to make it better.

“So, in celebration of the 1st anniversary of our album Story’s Start or End, we’ve decided to release a Live EP bundle with all proceeds going to Support Act, who are providing much needed relief for those who work in the music industry. Without all of the crew and team members working behind the scenes the show would most certainly not go on, so this is the least we could do to give a little back!”

Available now from Space Mirror Merch, an exclusive merch bundle features a shirt and a digital download of the new live EP, with all funds going to Support Act – Australia’s only charity delivering crisis relief services to music artists and music workers as a result of financial hardship, ill health, injury, or mental health issues.

SAFIA – Story’s Start or End Live EP track listing:

1. Ivory Lullaby (Live at The Forum)
2. Starlight (Live at The Tivoli)
3. Resolution (Live at The Forum)
4. Vagabonds (Live at Enmore Theatre)
5. Story’s Start or End (Live at Enmore Theatre)

Image of the SAFIA Live EP bundle