Home Music Music News

Jonathan Bree Announces New Album ‘Pre-Code Hollywood’, Shares Title Track Featuring Nile Rodgers

It will be the idiosyncratic Kiwi singer-songwriter’s first studio album since 2020

Jonathan Bree

Chelsea Nikkel

Jonathan Bree is back.

The idiosyncratic Kiwi singer-songwriter has announced Pre-Code Hollywood, his fifth studio album and first since 2020’s After the Curtains Close.

Pre-Code Hollywood is set to be released digitally on April 14th, followed by a vinyl release on May 12th, via Bree’s own Aotearoa-based Lil’ Chief Records (Princess Chelsea).

To mark the album announcement, The Brunettes musician shared the title track today, which features expectantly sublime guitar work from the legendary Nile Rodgers.

“Pre-Code Hollywood” is a theme song for Bree’s anonymous anti-hero persona. The title refers to The Hays Code, a set of industry guidelines that massively restricted Hollywood between 1934 and 1968 and censored freedom of expression in cinema. The striking synth pop track is alluringly performed, cinematically presented, and sounds like a sincere disco homage, in no small part thanks to the contribution of Rodgers.

The title track comes accompanied by an intoxicating music video, directed by Bree himself. Elusive as always, Bree and his mannequin band perform “Pre-Code Hollywood” under their taut masks. Dick Driver, who once had a prominent role on the influential music video show Radio With Pictures, introduces them on a fictional version of Top of the Pops called Radio Vision. You can watch the full mesmerising music video below.

“Pre-Code Hollywood” follows last year’s “Destiny”, a wonderful collaboration with Princess Chelsea that was released to celebrate Lil’ Chief Records’ landmark 20th anniversary. Featuring hushed opposing vocals from the label mates, the track felt sonically transported from a dark ’80s night. “Destiny” is one of 10 tracks on Bree’s upcoming album (see full tracklist below).

Jonathan Bree’s Pre-Code Hollywood is out April 14th via Lil’ Chief Records.

Pre-Code Hollywood Tracklist:

1. “City Baby”
2. “Pre-Code Hollywood”
3. “When We Met”
4. “Miss You”
5. “We’ll All Be Forgotten”
6. “Epicurean”
7. “Politics”
8. “You Are The Man”
9. “Destiny”
10. “Steel And Glass”