Home Music Music News

Cut Copy Announce Long-Awaited Sixth Album, ‘Freeze, Melt’

Cut Copy are set to release their first record since 2017 this August, with new single “Cold Water” accompanying the announcement.

Tamar Levine*

It’s been a few years since the world last heard a full-length record from Melbourne electro icons Cut Copy, but following a pair of well-received songs across the last two years, the acclaimed outfit have officially announced their forthcoming sixth album, Freeze, Melt.

Having released “Love Is All We Share” as their first official single since 2017 early last month, fans of Cut Copy would’ve been aware that there was some movement at the station. Following a few weeks of speculating whether a new album was indeed on the way, the group have now revealed that Freeze, Melt will be released on August 21.

Accompanying this announcement, Cut Copy have shared their latest single, “Cold Water”, which serves as a “five-minute piece of elation that speaks to love in a climate of uncertainty”.

“After extensive touring on our last album, ‘Cold Water’ was one of the first new songs to appear,” explains Dan Whitford. “I’d moved to Copenhagen and had been listening to a lot more ambient and instrumental electronic music and as a result ‘Cold Water’ felt quite different to songs we’d made in the past.

“It was less dance, but more atmospheric. Also the subject matter explores love in today’s context, where the climate and fate of the planet are becoming increasingly uncertain. Once we’d finished it, it felt like we’d placed a marker in the ground, guiding us in a new musical direction.”

As Whitford notes, Freeze, Melt was written during an especially cold Scandinavian winter, with the collection taking the form of an inward journey that lyrically explores love in strange times. Completed at Melbourne’s Park Orchard Studios, the record was mixed by Swedish icon Christoffer Berg (Robyn, The Knife), and ultimately finished Gothenburg’s Svenska Grammofonstudion.

Cut Copy’s Freeze, Melt is set to be released on August 21st, with pre-orders available now.

Cut Copy – Freeze, Melt tracklist

1. “Cold Water”
2. “Like Breaking Glass”
3. “Love Is All We Share”
4. “Stop, Horizon”
5. “Running In The Grass”
6. “A Perfect Day”
7. “Rain”
8. “In Transit”