Home Music Music News

Cub Sport Perform “Live and Unplugged” Version of New Single, ‘Drive’

Tim Nelson and Zoe Davis of Cub Sport performed an intimate rendition of the track, which was supposed to be released on their new album this week.

Cub Sport will now release their fourth album, 'Like Nirvana', on July 24th.

Buster Parks/Supplied

Cub Sport’s Tim Nelson and Zoe Davis have come together to share a stripped-back version of their latest single, “Drive”.

Uploading the track to YouTube yesterday afternoon, the intimate performance sees Nelson and Davis sharing vocals of the gorgeous track, stripping it down to its bare bones and exposing the raw emotion present in the track.

In a statement surrounding the single’s release in late March, Nelson explained that the track “feels like the type of song that soundtracks a particular moment or time in your life.”

“Recognising the magic of life while it’s happening is something really special and that’s what “Drive” is to me; capturing that feeling,” Nelson explained. “It’s a love song saying ‘You’re a dream and I still can’t believe you give a damn about me’.”

Of course, this performance of “Drive” is undoubtedly a special one for fans, serving as their first chance to hear the song performed live. While Cub Sport announced their new albumLike Nirvana, back in March, a planned tour for April was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Likewise, the group’s album has since been pushed back from its original release date of May 8th to July 24th. Cub Sport have released a limited edition ‘Virtual Meet & Greet‘ pre-order bundles, giving fans the opportunity to connect directly with the group via a private Google Hangout.

Meanwhile, Cub Sport had also been named as one of the artists set to perform at the 20th anniversary edition of Splendour in the Grass this July. However, with the festival being pushed back to later in the year, it’s currently unknown whether they will still appear on the updated lineup when the festival announces its details.

Cub Sport are set to release Like Nirvana on July 24th, with pre-orders available now.

Cub Sport – Like Nirvana Tracklist

1. “Intro”
2. “Confessions”
3. “My Dear (Can I Tell You My Greatest Fears)”
4. “I Feel Like I Am Changin’”
5. “Drive”
6. “Be Your Man”
7. “Break Me Down” (with Mallrat)
8. “Nirvana”
9. “Saint”
10. “18”
11. “Best Friend”
12. “Be Your Angel”
13. “Grand Canyon”