Home Music Music News

Cub Sport Announce New Album “Like Nirvana”, Plot National Tour

Cub Sport have shared their latest single “Confessions”, which serves as the first taste of their forthcoming fourth album.

Image of Australian indie quartet Cub Sport

Cub Sport are set to launch their fourth album in just a matter of months.

Buster Parks/Supplied

Just one year on from their last album, Cub Sport have announced the release of their fourth record, with Like Nirvana set to arrive in May.

This time last year, fans of Cub Sport were still letting their self-titled third album settle, having been released in January and managing to hit #12 on the ARIA charts. Spawning numerous singles, including “Party Pill”, “Summer Lover”, and “Sometimes”, the record was a major success for fans of the group, with subsequent live dates taking place all over the world.

As 2019 came to a close though, fans were again treated to an influx of new music, including the Darren Hayes-featuring “I Never Cried So Much in My Whole Life”, and the triple treat of singles that arrived as part of their “333” project.

Now, following the arrival of new song “Confessions” on triple j overnight, the group have unveiled details of their fourth studio album, Like Nirvana.

“”Confessions” feels like an emotional purge,” frontman Tim Nelson says of the new single. “The lyrics flowed in a stream of consciousness and when I listened back, I realised I’d articulated lots of things I’d been avoiding saying out loud.

“Musically, it’s really different to anything I’ve written and produced before. It’s gritty, soaring and liberating, you feel it as much as you hear it. I’m hoping this song sets other people free the way it has for me.”

“Confessions” serves as the first single from Like Nirvana, which is set for release on on May 8 via Cub Sport Records/Believe.

Featuring a sense of freedom throughout the record, Like Nirvana coincides with Nelson identifying as ‘free’, positioning themselves outside the gender binary and embracing the use of both neutral pronouns (they/them/their) and male pronouns (he/him/his).

“I am free to follow my heart, free to flow with the energies inside and around me, free to form my own self not built by others,” they explain.

To cap off the news, Cub Sport have also announced their forthcoming “Confessions” tour, which will see them revisit some of the first club venues they ever played as they headline intimate shows at Sydney’s Oxford Art Factory, Brisbane’s The Zoo, and Melbourne’s Howler.

Tickets for the upcoming tour are on sale from 9am, Friday, March 6, while album pre-orders are available now.

Cub Sport “Confessions” Tour 

With special guest Vlossom

Saturday, April 4th
Oxford Art Factory, Sydney, NSW

Saturday, April 11th
The Zoo, Brisbane, QLD

Saturday, April 18th
Howler, Melbourne, VIC

Tickets on sale from 9am, Friday, March 6

Cub Sport – Like Nirvana Tracklist

1. Intro
2. Confessions
3. My Dear (Can I Tell You My Greatest Fears)
4. I Feel Like I Am Changin’
5. Drive
6. Be Your Man
7. Break Me Down (with Mallrat)
8. Nirvana
9. Saint
10. 18
11. Best Friend
12. Be Your Angel
13. Grand Canyon