Home Music Music News

Courtney Barnett Announces New Album, ‘Things Take Time, Take Time’

The third album from Courtney Barnett, Things Take Time, Take Time features new single “Rae Street”, which premiered on triple j overnight.

Mia Mala McDonald*

Just over three years on since the arrival of her ARIA Award-nominated second album, Melbourne’s Courtney Barnett has unveiled the details of new album, Things Take Time, Take Time.

Arriving a few days after some teasing on social media, the new record is set for release on Friday, November 12th, and comes accompanied by lead single “Rae Street”, which premiered on triple j overnight. One of the aforementioned pieces of social media activity saw Barnett sharing a mural of the single’s artwork which she had painted on a billboard in its namesake; Fitzroy’s Rae Street.

Described as “a finely woven collage of snapshots recorded at a time of creative renewal and deeper understanding” for Barnett, the record is viewed as signalling “an exciting new chapter” for an artist who is operating at the very peak of her powers as a storied and influential musician.

Written over two years and recorded towards the end of 2020 and early 2021 in Sydney, Northern NSW, and Melbourne with musical kindred-spirit producer/drummer Stella Mozgawa (Warpaint, Cate le Bon, Kurt Vile), Things Take Time, Take Time is described as “another assured leap forward” for Barnett, allowing listeners a look into her private world thanks to her her most beautiful and intimate record to date.

Though it’s been a few years since the release of Barnett’s last album, the globally-acclaimed musician has been far from lazy, with many moves made since the arrival of last year’s global pandemic alone.

In addition to sharing a cover of Kev Carmody’s “Just For You”, Barnett also unveiled her ‘From Where I’m Standing’ livestream, cover collaborations with Vagabon and Phoebe Bridgers, and even a live music experience and archive. In addition to that, Barnett was also ranked at #24 in Rolling Stone Australia’s list of the 50 greatest Australian artists of all-time.

Courtney Barnett’s “Rae Street” is out now, while Things Take Time, Take Time will be released on Friday, November 12th via Milk! Records, with pre-orders available now.

Courtney Barnett’s Things Take Time, Take Time tracklist:

1. Rae Street
2. Sunfair Sundown
3. Here’s the Thing
4. Before You Gotta Go
5. Turning Green
6. Take it Day By Day
7. If I Don’t Hear From You Tonight
8. Write a List of Things to Look Forward To
9. Splendour
10. Oh the Night