Home Music Music News

Courtney Barnett Announces Global ‘From Where I’m Standing’ Livestream

Filmed at Melbourne’s UNESCO World Heritage-listed Royal Exhibition Building, the performance will be presented as a ticketed event, and shown in select cinemas.

In a year when livestreams have become the easiest and most effective ways for artists to perform for their fans, Courtney Barnett has become the last artist to offer up a full-length concert to her fans around the world.

Announced today, Barnett has teamed up with Driift to create the first Australian-produced premium livestream. Dubbed, From Where I’m Standing, the live performance will Barnett and her band – including bassist Bones Sloane, drummer Dave Mudie, and new addition, cellist Lucy Waldron – performing from Melbourne’s UNESCO World Heritage-listed Royal Exhibition Building.

A glimmer of hope in Melbourne’s otherwise bleak year, the performance also features a rather interesting link to Barnett herself. Constructed in 1880, the builder was David Mitchell, the father of famed operatic soprano Dame Nellie Melba, the namesake of Courtney Melba Barnett.

Set to premiere at 8pm, AEDT on Thursday, December 17th, the performance sees Barnett and her band working with film-maker Derry Sheehan to create a truly unique experience in a gorgeous venue.

Tickets to the performance will be available to purchase from 9am AEDT on Friday, November 27th, while a select group of Australian cinemas will also be showing the event, with tickets to these sessions on sale from the cinemas directly from 9am AEDT on Wednesday, November 25th.

Courtney Barnett – From Where I’m Standing

Live from the Royal Exhibition Building, Melbourne

Thursday, December 17th, 2020
10:00PM NZDT
8:00PM AEDT (NSW, ACT, Vic, Tas)
7:30PM ACDT (SA)
7:00PM AEST (QLD)
6:30PM ACST (NT)
5:00PM AWST (WA)

Tickets on sale from 9am AEDT on Friday, November 27th

Also screening in select cinemas

Thursday, December 17th, 2020
NSW: Dendy Cinemas, Newtown, Sydney
ACT: Dendy Cinema, Canberra Centre, Canberra
VIC: Cinema Nova, Carlton, Melbourne
SA: Palace Nova EastEnd, Adelaide
QLD: Dendy Cinema, Coorparoo, Brisbane
WA: Luna Cinemas, Leederville, Perth

Tickets available directly from cinemas from 9am AEDT on Wednesday, November 25th