Home Music Music News

Cody Simpson announces first album in six years, ‘CODY SIMPSON’

Singer-songwriter and Olympic-level swimmer Cody Simpson has paired announcement of his new album with the release of the single ‘Let Go’.

Singer-songwriter and Olympic-level swimmer Cody Simpson has announced his forthcoming studio album, CODY SIMPSON.

Set for release on April 8th via his own label Coast House Records and The Orchard, this will be Simpson’s first full-length release in six long years.

On CODY SIMPSON, the titular artist finds himself exploring the existential themes of the everyday human experience. A natural lyricist, the 12-track record is a life-affirming soundtrack of his own evolution.

“Producing this album not only was a chance to reclaim some innocence — which was temporarily lost in America — but it has an ever so subtle sense of time and place,” says Simpson. “I’m ready for a new chapter in my life. Recording this album and the studio we did it in, with all this richness of history there, was a real cathartic and intrinsic experience.”

In November 2020, Simpson took a week out from his disciplined swimming schedule to record and co-produce the album at the celebrated Village Recording Studios in West Hollywood. Drawing on personal influences including John Mayer and Jack Johnson, the album was arranged in the studio with live musicians, including string and horn sections.

To complement today’s album announcement, Simpson has also released a new single and video, “Let Go”. “”Let Go” might just be one of my favourite songs on the upcoming album,” Simpson adds. “It’s somber yet hopeful. Nostalgic yet optimistic. It encourages an acceptance of what is and just feels good to listen to. A song to remember a lover by.”

Taking inspiration from Wes Anderson’s recent film The French Dispatch, the cinematic music video stars Simpson himself alongside Vanessa Valladares, directed by frequent collaborators Jamie Green and Jay Button in Byron Bay.

‘Let Go’ follows Simpson’s recent single “Nice To Meet You”: the aptly titled single was a strong reintroduction to Simpson’s music and was the first track to be lifted from his forthcoming album.

Cody Simpson’s “Let Go” is out now, while CODY SIMPSON will be released on April 8th, with pre-orders available now.

Cody Simpson – CODY SIMPSON tracklist:

“Nice To Meet You”

“Across The Sea”

“I Wouldn’t Change A Thing”

“Let Go”


“Cool Sensations”


“Summer Evening”

“It’s A Dream (ft. Ben Harper)”


“Do You Love Me Still?”

“You Don’t Know Me”