Home Music Music News

2024 Pacific Music Awards Finalists Announced

Five-piece Polynesian metal band Shepherds Reign lead the way with six nominations

Shepherds Reign

Shepherds Reign


The finalists for the 2024 Pacific Music Awards have been announced.

This year’s finalists include the five-piece Polynesian metal band Shepherds Reign, Samoan-Indian singer-songwriter Aaradhna, and hip hop artist Diggy Dupé, all nominated in multiple categories.

Other nominees include Onehunga rap crew SWIDT, Tokelauan singer Olivia Foa’i, and 12 first-time finalists, reflecting the growth in the Pacific music community.

Additional finalists include Sam V, Kings, Signature Choir, Jordyn with a Why, Elena, Teo Glacier, Haz Beats, A.R.T, Tha Movement, EMA I’U, Pat, Tone6, Junior Soqeta, Stanley T, Folau, Unity Pacific, lilbubblegum, Shane Walker, Jaro Local, Josh Tatofi, Kennyon Brown, Donell Lewis, DJ Noiz, and Mr Cowboy.

Pacific Music Awards Trust spokesperson Rev Mua Strickson-Pua said: “Pacific Music navigates 20 years. Pacific Music Awards Faka’apa’apa and Fakamanatu Tongan language meaning honour and celebrate, Fa’amamalu and Fa’amamanatu Samoan language meaning honour and celebrate, Whakamanawa and Hakaritia in Te Reo Māori means honouring and celebrating 20 years of Pacific Music Awards that honours Pasifika families, communities and nations acknowledging our Musika contributions locally to globally internationally from humble small Pacific nations but from the largest Ocean in the world.

“Atua, Tupuaga, and Tupuna have blessed our Pasifika musical navigation of Excellence and love for our people, our nations, and Atua. Faka’apa’apa Fakamanatu Tonga, Fa’amamalu Fa’amanatu Samoa and Whakamanawa, Hakaritia Te Reo Maori to honour and celebrate.”

This year’s Pacific Music Award winners will be celebrated at the 20th anniversary event on Thursday, August 29th, at the Due Drop Events Centre in Manukau.

Tickets for the 2024 Pacific Music Awards are available for purchase through Eventfinda.

For a complete list of finalists, visit pacificmusicawards.org.nz

2024 Pacific Music Awards finalists

Best Pacific Female Artist
Jordyn with a Why
Olivia Foa’i

Best Pacific Male Artist
Diggy Dupé
Sam V

Best Pacific Group
Shepherds Reign

Best Pacific Language
Shepherds Reign
Signature Choir
Olivia Foa’i

Best Pacific Gospel Artist
Junior Soqeta
Signature Choir

Best Pacific Hip Hop Artist
Diggy Dupé
Tha Movement

Best Pacific Soul/RnB Artist
Sam V

Roots/Reggae Artist
Shane Walker
Stanley T
Unity Pacific

NZ On Air Best Pacific Music Video
Aaradhna – “She”
Director: Anahera Parata
Diggy Dupe – “We The City”
Director: Tom Grut
EMA I’U – “Flower of Life”
Director: Francis Baker
Pat – “What Do I Do feat Dizzy Dash & Sven Illy”
Director: Danny Aumua
Shepherds Reign – “Nafanua”
Director: Dave Thomson
Tha Movement – “Tin City feat. Sid Diamond”
Director: Robert George