Home Music Music Features

New Music Monday: The Best New Zealand Music for November 27th to December 3rd

Dive into fresh Aotearoa releases from JessB, DARTZ, Raiza Biza, Liam Finn, Delaney Davidson, Muroki, NO CIGAR, and more



Haere mai to Rolling Stone NZ‘s new weekly roundup of the best New Zealand music from the past seven days. Dive into our favourite new releases by Aotearoa artists between November 27th to December 3rd below.

JessB – “Hold Me Down” 

Aotearoa rap sensation JessB releases the sweet and warm groove of “Hold Me Down,” a primer for her packed summer of festival appearances. “This song is essentially a manifestation for the type of (romantic) love that I want. Speaking it into existence! The beat was produced by Dera Meelan and has a laid back summer vibe to it which feels like a nice way to close out the year,” she says.

DARTZ – “Learning to Drive With Dad” 

Wellington alt-rockers DARTZ have lifted the lid on their second album, Dangerous Day to Be a Cold One, coming out next March, with the rollicking new tune “Learning to Drive With Dad”. Inspired by childhood driving lessons, the music video directed by Ezra Simons is a hoot. 

Joe Kaptein – Good Weather 

Joe Kaptein has shared a new album, Good Weather, featuring nine majestic instrumental tracks with innovative percussion, cymbals, and assorted saxophone duties by his talented mates. He’s also currently on tour with Taite Music Prize winner Princess Chelsea in the US. “Good Weather has nine original compositions which I’d roughly describe as some bizarre bedroom-made electro-balearic-jazz business – sometimes synthed-out, sometimes loungey, sometimes full hoon,” he explains.

Raiza Biza – THE PREQUEL

Rwandan-New Zealand rapper Raiza Biza returns after 2021’s stellar A SUMMER IN RETROGRADE with THE PREQUEL. Featuring the previously dropped anthem “GET MONEY” alongside five fresh new tracks, the record sees him return to his African roots. Collaborations with Sol, Blaze The Emperor and Taku Paradza add some local magic.

Liam Finn – “I Just Want You to Be so Happy” 

Crowded House’s Liam Finn is ushering in an expansive new solo era with the release of the first single, “I Just Want You To Be So Happy”, from his solo project, Hyperverse. Finn shares, “Every once in a while, you write a song that just kind of flows effortlessly, even the words. Pretty much the whole of ‘I Want You to Be so Happy’ came out in 10 minutes.” 

Delaney Davidson – “Don’t Walk Away From Love”

Lyttelton’s seasoned songwriter, Delaney Davidson, reveals his 10th studio album with the release of the beautifully haunting lead single, “Don’t Walk Away From Love”. Co-produced by Merk, aka Mark Perkins, the album features guest appearances from Marlon Williams and Reb Fountain. Davison shares, “I have always helped other people like Tami Neilson, Marlon Williams and Troy Kingi make these rich albums and when I asked Mark to come co produce with me I think what I was really wanting to do was finally make one of these albums for myself.” 

Muroki – “Love Cocoon” ft. BENEE

Kenyan-Kiwi musician Muroki and BENEE teamed up for a funky release called “Love Cocoon”, out on BENEE’s label, Olive Records. Following their successful collaboration on the 2020 track “All the Time” from Hey u x, the duo brings their fun musical synergy once again in this latest release.

NO CIGAR – “Great Escape” 

The talented lads of NO CIGAR have just released their second album, The Great Escape, featuring the sparking title track, before they begin a massive run of summer dates in both Aotearoa and Australia from New Year’s Eve onwards.

Diggy Dupé – “WE THE CITY” 

Tāmaki Makaurau hip hop artist Diggy Dupé  drops an ode to his hometown city of Central Auckland with “WE THE CITY”, featuring the beats of Smokeygotbeatz’s (SWIDT) and a slick video directed by Tom Grut. “I wanted ‘WE THE CITY to be an anthem that represents the energy, diversity, and unity found in our city. It’s a celebration of who we are and where we come from,” says Diggy.