Home Music Music News

Yours Truly Announce Long-Awaited Debut Album, ‘Self Care’

Inspired by anxiety, high expectations, and imposter syndrome, ‘Self Care’ showcases a journey of resilience and empowerment for Yours Truly.

Georgia Moloney*

Sydney pop punk outfit Yours Truly have formally announced the release of their long-awaited debut album, with Self Care set to arrive on September 18th.

Having first emerged onto the scene a number of years ago, Yours Truly first caught the ear of fans thanks to the release of their debut EP, Too Late for Apologies. With a number of singles preceding the release of their Afterglow EP, and slots supporting the likes of Tonight Alive, We The Kings, and Say Anything, the group have spent most of the last year looking towards their full-length debut.

Announcing the news today, Self Care will be released via UNFD on September 18th, with the band releasing “Together” as the record’s lead single.

“‘Together’ is about feeling the stress and uneasiness of imposter syndrome,” explained vocalist Mikaila Delgado. “I had a lot of fear and anxiety coming into this album, having this expectation to exceed what we did with Afterglow.

“I remember telling myself ‘you need to write the best songs of your life’ and getting upset about the possibility of not being able to prove ourselves. One night I turned to Lachlan [Cronin, guitar] and said ‘I just feel all the colour has been drained from my brain’ and we both looked at each other with wide eyes, and that’s how the idea of ‘Together’ came about.”

Borne from a place of anxiety and attempts to match the high expectations placed upon them, both the record and its namesake embodies what the album meant for the group during the recording process, with its content hopefully offering the same sort of healing process to its listeners.

“We really learnt and lived a lot in one year, and writing these songs allowed me to understand myself on a whole new level throughout it all,” Delgado adds.

“The experience was a true form of self-care that ended with me feeling stronger, smarter, enlightened and positive after a rollercoaster of emotions. For me, this album was my version of soaking in vanilla candles and that comforting taste of chocolate and red wine under blankets. We hope it brings solace to whoever listens to it and can relate too.”

Yours Truly’s Self Care is released on September 18th via UNFD, with pre-orders available now.

Yours Truly, Self Care Tracklist

1. Siamese Souls
2. Composure
3. Together
4. Vivid Dream
5. Undersize
6. Ghost
7. Funeral Home
8. Glass Houses
9. Half Of Me
10. Heartsleeve