Home Music Music News

TISM Unearth Demo Tape, Rehearsals, and More for Reissue Series

TISM are also set to release a limited edition 7″ single for Record Store Day in June.

Image of Melbourne rock outfit TISM

The TISM reissue series continues with a selection of early recordings.


Iconic Aussie outfit TISM are continuing their reissue series, today announcing three new pieces to arrive in the coming months.

Breaking their almost two-decade-long silence last year, TISM and David Roy Williams Entertainment announced the commencement of a reissue series which would see TISM’s material once again shared with the masses. Famously out of print and ludicrously expensive on the secondary market, the group’s catalogue only made its arrival onto Spotify early last year, with a live album emerging on Good Friday of 2020.

Last year, the reissue series began with the release of the group’s final show at the Earthcore Festival in 2004, a single of a long-lost AC/DC cover, and the release of The TISM Omni-Album, which was a vinyl disc pressed with nothing but silence.

While the majority of these releases have since sold out, 2021 brings with it the release of even more TISM material, including an album full of unheard rehearsals.

Kicking off the series is the long-awaited commercial release of the band’s 1984 demo tape, This Is Serious Mum. Predominantly created for their own amusement, the tape consisted of a number of scrappy recordings which were sold at live shows and some Melbourne record stores. One copy found its way into the hands of Mark Burchett and indie label owner Gavan Purdy, who immediately signed them up for gigs and a record deal.

While these recordings have surfaced online over the years, they’ve never been commercially released, with fans treating the original cassettes as something of a ‘holy grail’, and paying exorbitant amounts of money for a copy.

Released on Friday, May 21st, the demo has been pressed on limited edition ‘translucent aquamarine’ and ‘opaque yellow’ vinyl, while versions sold in the official TISM shop are on CD with a bonus replica cassette.

The next item in the series is the Punt Road LP, a record which collects a number of rehearsals recorded ahead of the band’s launch of their “40 Years – Then Death” single. While none of these recordings have ever been made public, it collects a large number of tracks from their 1988 debut album Great Truckin’ Songs of The Renaissance, and their debut mini-LP, Form and Meaning Reach Ultimate Communion.

Also released on Friday, May 21st, Punt Road has been pressed on limited edition ‘translucent orange’ and ‘opaque green’ vinyl, while CD versions sold in the official TISM shop feature bonus tracks and come with an extra “Punt Road Raw” CD, which is described as featuring the “needle firmly in the red”.

Lastly, the group are also set to release a limited edition single for Record Store Day, featuring the opening track, “Mistah Eliot – He Wanker”, on the A-side, and an unreleased mix of “Kill Yourself Now and Avoid the Rush” on the flip side.

Set for release on Saturday, June 12th for Record Store Day, only 750 copies of the record are available via independent record stores, with remaining copies sold via the official TISM shop. Read on for full tracklisting details.

Image of 'This Is Serious Mum' by TISM

TISM – This Is Serious Mum tracklist

1. The Art-Income Dialectic
2. Eckermann Is Very Silly
3. The Back Upon Which Jezza Jumped
4. Defecate On My Face
5. Lyric For Jack
6. I Go To Werribee
7. Crime Against The Spirit Oo Poo Pee Doo
8. Pus Of The Dead
9. Clarse Distinction
10. The Reserection

Image of 'Punt Road' by TISM

TISM – Punt Road tracklist

1. If You’re Creative, Get Stuffed
2. Anarchy Means Crossing When It Says “Don’t Walk”
3. The Ballad of John Bonham’s Coke Roadie
4. Saturday Night Palsy
5. I’m Into Led Zep
6. (I Think I’ve Got) Mick Jagger Worked Out
7. 40 Years – Then Death
8. The Fosters Car Park Boogie
9. A Faceful Of Divertamenti
10. Defecate On My Face
11. Babies Bite Back
12. Choose Bad Smack
13. Mistah Eliot – He Wanker
14. I Drive A Truck

CD Bonus Tracks:

15. U2, Brute?
16. The Fosters Car Park Boogie (HBF vocal)
17. Choose Bad Smack (take 2)

Image of 'Mistah Eliot - He Wanker' by TISM

TISM – This Is Serious Mum tracklist

1. Mistah Eliot – He Wanker
2. Kill Yourself Now And Avoid The Rush (Unreleased Early Mix)

Full details available via the official TISM shop.