Home Music Music News

Thurston Moore Announces Ninth Solo Album ‘Flow Critical Lucidity’

Sonic Youth founding guitarist shares new single ‘Sans Limites’ featuring Stereolab’s Lætitia Sadier ahead of LP’s September 20 release

Thurston Moore

Carl Juste/Miami Herald/Tribune News Service/Getty Images

Thurston Moore is back, and limitless. The Sonic Youth founding guitarist has officially announced his ninth solo album, Flow Critical Lucidity. It marks his first full length album since 2021’s instrumental meditation Screen Time.

Along with the official album announcement, Moore has shared new single “Sans Limites” featuring Stereolab’s Lætitia Sadier. The track is a slow burn with electronic touches that swirl around a guitar and piano motif until Moore’s voice cuts in more than halfway through the five minute song.

Lyrically, “Sans Limites” is true to its title and explores many topics. Moore specifically wrote about “eradicating any limitations towards enlightenment, but going beyond limitations. The idea that a soldier can fight the good fight. A warrior against war,” as he details in a press release.

The new track follows three previously released singles from the upcoming album, “Isadora” “Hypnogram,” and “Rewilding.” The full tracklist is below.

Flow Critical Lucidity Tracklist:

  1. “New in Town”
  2. “Sans Limites”
  3. “Shadow”
  4. “Hypnogram”
  5. “We Get High”
  6. “Rewilding”
  7. “The Diver”

From Rolling Stone US