Home Music Music News

Song You Need to Know: Strange Talk, ‘Starlight (feat. CM)’

“Starlight” is set to feature on Speech Therapy, the highly-anticipated forthcoming album from Strange Talk.

Image of Strange Talk

Rick Clifford*

Having ended a few years of silence with the release of singles such as “Love Elevation” and “Down Low” over the last few months, Strange Talk have not only unveiled their latest banger with the release of the majestic “Starlight’, but also detailed their long-awaited new album, Speech Therapy.

Officially released today, “Starlight” sees the Melbourne duo teaming up with CM, the musical moniker of Ciara Muscat, for one of the most arresting and mesmerising dance numbers of recent times. Seemingly custom-made for dancefloors, it’s a euphoric number which sees heavy bass and slick melodies cascading against a luscious synth-heavy instrumental, culminating in a masterful mix of electronica that stays with you for hours after the fact.

“We decided we wanted to do another duet after the great response we got from ‘Painted in Gold’ off our last EP, so we asked around and were introduced to an amazing young singer/song writer called Ciara Muscat,” Strange Talk explain.

“After just a few hours in the studio we knew we had something, but it took a few chorus rewrites and even more production overhauls to really get this track right and we couldn’t be happier with it.”

Reminiscent of veteran acts such as Cut Copy or Passion Pit, “Starlight” has all the markings of a classic dance hit, with the single set to appear alongside the group’s other recently-released tracks on their forthcoming album, Speech Therapy.

Set for release on September 17th, Speech Therapy serves as the first new full-length album from Strange Talk in a number of years. A nine-track collection of work, the highly-anticipated record is also the group’s first full length LP produced independently, and heralds a welcome return for the pair.

Strange Talk’s “Starlight (feat. CM)” is out now, while Speech Therapy will be released on September 17th, with pre-orders available now.

Strange Talk Speech Therapy tracklist:

1. Sunshine
2. Love Elevation
3. Down Low
4. Starlight (feat. CM)
5. Out Of The Blue
6. The Good Days
7. Feel Too Much
8. Drunk On Love
9. Stick By You