Home Music Music News

Song You Need to Know: KUČKA, ‘No Good for Me’

After a decade on the scene, the Perth raised, LA-based KUČKA will release her debut album, Wrestling, in April.

Dillon Howl*

After almost a decade as one of the most innovative and exciting artists on the Australian music scene, the Perth raised, LA-based producer and vocalist KUČKA (the musical moniker of Laura Jane Lowther) has announced the impending arrival of her debut album, Wrestling, with new single “No Good for Me” officially released today.

Premiering on triple j overnight, “No Good for Me” sees KUČKA at her best, providing thumping percussion, delicate electronic melodies, and impassioned vocals that are as hypnotic as they as are powerful.

“‘No Good for Me’ is a song about letting go of people who don’t vibe you up,” KUČKA said of the track in an accompanying statement. “Writing ‘No Good for Me’ was about capturing the energy of psyching yourself up to deal with that conflict.”

Described as a record about “young adulthood, finding yourself and meeting your soulmate along the way”, KUČKA’s debut record comes about following a period of resounding growth, which includes the conclusion of a long-distance relationship, moving across continents, coming out, and also getting married.

The record itself served as a form of catharsis for KUČKA, with Wrestling also serving as a dedication to her partner, and the album’s creative director, Dillon Howl, whose help and support made the record a possibility.

Wrestling will also include previously-released singles “Ascension”, “Contemplation”, “Real”, and “Drowning”, which have all arrived over the last couple of years.

KUČKA’s “No Good for Me” is out now via Soothsayer/LuckyMe, while her debut album, Wrestling, will be released on April 30th, with pre-orders available now.

KUČKA – Wrestling tracklist

1. “Wrestling”
2. “Contemplation”
3. “Drowning”
4. “Ascension”
5. “Afterparty”
6. “Joyride”
7. “Your World”
8. “Sky Brown”
9. “No Good for Me”
10. “Real”
11. “Eternity”
12. “Patience”