Home Music Music News

Northlane Announce New Remix EP, ‘5G’

Released this Friday, the new EP sees a raft of “surprise guests” reworking a handful of Northlane favourites.

Image of Northlane

Northlane are set to release their '5G' remix EP this week, but the list of remixers is being kept under wraps until then.

Giulia McGauran*

18 months on from the release of their last full-length record, Sydney metalcore outfit Northlane have unveiled a forthcoming release, with their 5G remix EP on track to arrive this Friday.

Surprise-announced today, the five-track EP is set to arrive via UNFD on Friday, February 26th, and features four track’s from 2019’s Alien, along with a reworked version of “Ohm”, from 2015’s Node.

“We wanted to curate a remix record for quite some time,” explained Northlane guitarist Josh Smith. “The idea really got some legs on our last European tour, and with some idle time on our hands the back end of 2020 was the perfect time to get this project fully underway.

“We’ve handpicked some of our favourite artists to work with outside of the metal genre to take our songs and make them their own.”

Notably, the group are yet to reveal just who the artists they’ve recruited for the project are, with the artwork provided alongside the announcement sneakily blurring the tracklist in an attempt to keep it under wraps until Friday.

While Northlane’s last studio album came by way of 2019’s Alien, the group haven’t been lazy since. While 2020 brought with it a lack of touring due to the global pandemic, Northlane managed to keep fans engaged by way of a deluxe edition of Alien, along with the release of Live at The Roundhouse, a live record captured during a hometown show in October of 2019.

Northlane’s 5G EP is set to be released on Friday, February 26th via UNFD, with pre-saves available now.

Northlane 5G tracklist

1. “Bloodline” (Remix)
2. “4D” (Remix)
3. “Vultures” (Remix)
4. “Ohm” (Remix)
5. “Sleepless” (Remix)