Home Music Music News

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds Announces Greatest Hits Album

It includes new single “We’re On Our Way Now”

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds will release a greatest hits compilation, Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021), on June 11th. The album will include two new songs, including single “We’re On Our Way Now,” which dropped today.

“10 years of Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds?? Blimey!” Gallagher wrote on Twitter. “Just think of all the things I COULD have done in that time!!”

The tracklist for the 18-song album was curated by Gallagher, and features two new tracks written by Gallagher and Paul ‘Strangeboy’ Stacey, “We’re On Our Way Now” and “Flying On The Ground.”

“The title just came to me one afternoon, at the kitchen table,” the musician noted. ”It’s a saying isn’t it: ‘back the way we came’. I actually thought it was a great title. Which is why it’s got Vol 1. Because if there’s another one, I’m not coming up with another title!”

On BBC Radio 2, Gallagher also revealed that The Crown actor Matt Smith will appear in the upcoming music video for “We’re On Our Way Now.”

‘We are [good friends],” Gallagher told BBC host Zoe Ball. “I’ve been friends with Matt for about 10 years. He came round to ours one night and I manipulated him with a lot of alcohol. I said, ‘Did you have a good night?’ [He said], ‘The best, the best energy.’ I said, ‘Do us a favor, be in the video for us.’ He agreed with a bad hangover.”

Most recently, Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds released Blue Moon Rising EP in early 2020. Gallagher formed the group after leaving Oasis in 2009.

Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021) is available to pre-order now. It is available in several formats, including a double CD set, a deluxe three CD set and a vinyl boxset. A limited edition, numbered, hand-pressed, colored, double LP with exclusive art print is being sold for Record Store Day on June 12th.

Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021) Tracklist:

Disc 1
1. Everybody’s On The Run
2. The Death Of You And Me
3. AKA … What A Life!
4. If I Had A Gun …
5. In The Heat Of The Moment
6. Riverman
7. Lock All The Doors
8. The Dying Of The Light
9. Ballad Of The Mighty I
10. We’re On Our Way Now

Disc 2
1. Black Star Dancing
2. Holy Mountain (Remastered)
3. A Dream Is All I Need To Get By
4. This Is The Place
5. It’s A Beautiful World
6. Blue Moon Rising
7. Dead In The Water (Live At RTÉ 2FM Studios, Dublin)
8. Flying On The Ground

Bonus Disc
1. It’s A Beautiful World (Instrumental)
2. If I Had A Gun … (Acoustic Version)
3. Black Star Dancing (Skeleton Key Remix)
4. Black Star Dancing (12” Mix Instrumental)
5. The Man Who Built The Moon (Acoustic Version)
6. International Magic (Demo)
7. Blue Moon Rising (Sons Of The Desert Remix)
8. The Dying Of The Light (Acoustic Version)
9. This Is The Place (Skeleton Key Remix)
10. This Is The Place (Instrumental)
11. Black Star Dancing (The Reflex Revision)
12. Be Careful What You Wish For (Instrumental)

From Rolling Stone US