Home Music Music News

Morrissey Announces New Album ‘Bonfire Of Teenagers’

“The worst year of my life concludes with the best album of my life,” the singer says

Andrew Lipovsky/NBCU Photo Bank/NBCUniversal via Getty Images

Morrissey has completed his next album, Bonfire of Teenagers, according to a post on the singer’s website. The album was recorded in Los Angeles and will feature 11 tracks, although a release date has not yet been confirmed.

“The worst year of my life concludes with the best album of my life,” Morrissey wrote of the release. The post also noted that the singer is currently unsigned and the album is available to the “highest (or lowest) bidder.”

Morrissey parted ways with record label BMG last November. The singer revealed the label had dropped him in an update on his website, titled “BMG Dumps Morrissey,” noting, “BMG have appointed a new executive who does not want another Morrissey album. Instead, the new BMG Executive has announced new plans for ‘diversity’ within BMG’s artist roster, and all projected BMG Morrissey releases/reissues have been scrapped.”

He added, “This news is perfectly in keeping with the relentless galvanic horror of 2020. We would be critically insane to expect anything positive.”

Morrissey made headlines earlier this year when an episode of The Simpsons parodied the former Smiths singer with a moody character named Quilloughby. The character, voiced by Benedict Cumberbatch, becomes Lisa Simpson’s imaginary friend in the episode, titled “Panic on the Streets of Springfield.” The episode also included a mopey, Morrissey-esque tune called “Everyone Is Horrid Except Me (And Possibly You).”