Home Music Music News

The Wombats’ Matthew Murphy Announces Debut Love Fame Tragedy Album

Working with a number of high-profile artists, Murph has finally unveiled the details of the debut album from Love Fame Tragedy.

Eva Pentel*

Less than three months since the release of his latest EP, Matthew “Murph” Murphy of The Wombats has announced the debut album under his Love Fame Tragedy moniker.

Having first teased a new solo project almost two years ago, it wasn’t until this time last year that the enigmatic frontman of the Liverpool outfit (and honorary Australians) The Wombats formally announced the arrival of Love Fame Tragedy.

Sharing his first set of tracks via his I Don’t Want to Play the Victim, But I’m Really Good at It EP in September, Murph shared another bunch of songs via the appropriately-titled Five Songs to Briefly Fill the Void EP in March while fans anticipated a full-length album.

Now, Love Fame Tragedy is indeed set to share a full-length record, with Wherever I Go, I Want To Leave scheduled to be released on July 10th. Featuring 17 tracks, the album will compile all of the songs issued on Murph’s previous two EPs, in addition to seven new tracks.

One of these tracks, album opener “5150”, has been issued as the record’s first single, and is named after the code in California law for those who present a danger to themselves  or others due to mental illness.

“In this case it refers more to how I occasionally feel a need to escape, regardless of the repercussions,” Murph explained of the title’s meaning in a statement.

While the album also features a number of guest appearances from the likes of previously-announced names such as the Pixies’ Joey Santiago, Maddi Jean Waterhouse, Jack River, alt-J’s Gus Unger-Hamilton, and Matt Chamberlain of Soundgarden and Pearl Jam, the new songs also feature a handful of additional Aussie artists as well.

While River, Santiago, and Chamberlain all make return appearances, Art vs. Science’s Dan Williams appears on “Sharks”, and Gang of Youths’ Joji Malani contributes to “Honeypie”.

Love Fame Tragedy’s Wherever I Go, I Want To Leave is set to be released on Friday, July 10th.

Love Fame Tragedy – Wherever I Go, I Want To Leave tracklist:

1. “5150”
2. “My Cheating Heart (feat. Joey Santiago and Maddi Jean Waterhouse)”
3. “Pills”
4. “Body Parts”
5. “Multiply (feat. Jack River)”
6. “Hardcore (feat. Maddi Jean Waterhouse)”
7. “Everything Affects Me Now (feat. Joey Santiago, Mark Stroemer and Matt Chamberlain)”
8. “You Take The Fun Out Of Everything”
9. “Please Don’t Murder Me (Part 2) (feat. Ellie Fletcher)”
10. “Backflip (feat. Gus Unger-Hamilton and Matt Chamberlain)”
11. “Sharks (feat. Dan Williams)”
12. “B Team (feat. Jack River)”
13. “Pink Mist”
14. “Honeypie (feat. Joji Malani)”
15. “The Sea Is Deep and The World Is Wide”
16. “Riding A Wave”
17. “Brand New Brain (feat. Gus Unger-Hamilton)”