Home Music

Kylie Minogue Amps Up the ‘Tension,’ Unveils Title Track From New Album

Tension, featuring the hit “Padam Padam” and 13 other songs, is out Sept. 22

Kylie Minogue

Edward Cooke*

Fresh off her hit “Padam Padam,” Kylie Minogue has dropped her new single and title track from her upcoming 16th studio album Tension.

Like its predecessor, “Tension” features the electro-pop, ready-to-remix, featuring sexy lyrics from the Australian singer ready for a DJ set at queer bars. “Don’t be shy, boy, I don’t bite/You know where, touch me right, ta-ta/Oh my god, touch me right there.”

Minogue co-wrote the new track with Kamille, Anya Jones, and Jon Green, along with producers Biff Stannard and Duck Blackwell. She’ll drop the Sophie Muller-directed video on Friday at 7 a.m. ET.

Along with releasing the single, she also revealed the tracklist for both the standard and deluxe versions of Tension, featuring songs such as “Green Light,” “Things We Do For Love,” and “10 Out of 10” with Oliver Heldens.

“This album is a blend of personal reflection, club abandon and melancholic highs,” Minogue previously said of the album in a statement. “I felt so much freedom when I recorded it and hope you love it!”

Tension, Minogue’s first LP since 2020’s Disco, arrives on September 22. The album is bolstered by the smash “Padam Padam,” an electro-banger named after the sound of a heartbeat. The single, released in May, became a Top 10 hit in the U.K., putting Minogue in an exclusive club of artists who have had Top 10 singles in five consecutive decades.

Just over a month after Tension’s release, on November 3, the Australian pop diva will open her Las Vegas residency at the Venetian’s new Voltaire venue. According to a statement, the team behind the Studio 54-inspired Voltaire chose Minogue as the first headliner because “her music transcends generations.”

Tension tracklist

1. “Padam Padam”
2. “Hold On To Now”
3. “Things We Do For Love”
4. “Tension”
5. “One More Time”
6. “You Still Get Me High”
7. “Hands”
8. “Green Light”
9. “Vegas High”
10. “10 Out of 10”
11. “Story”
12. “Love Train” (Deluxe)
13. “Just Imagine” (Deluxe)
14. “Somebody to Love” (Deluxe)

From Rolling Stone US