Home Music Music News

Flume Announces First New Album Since 2016, ‘Palaces’

Supported by new single ‘Say Nothing’, Flume’s third album sees him working with May-A, Caroline Polachek, and Damon Albarn, just for starters.

It’s been a few years since we received a full-length release from Sydney producer extraordinaire Flume, but as 2022 slowly unfolds, the hugely successful export has detailed his long-awaited third record, Palaces.

News of a new Flume era was first teased earlier this week when it was revealed that the artist was set to release a new single, “Say Nothing”, this week. Releasing earlier today, the track features May-A, and appears as one that is representative of the times we’ve found ourselves living in.

“This song is about feelings of post relationship clarity,” explains Flume. “We wrote the song midway through 2020 while the pandemic was still pretty new. I was really excited about the initial idea but it was only once I got back to Australia in early 2021 and linked up in the studio with MAY-A that the song really came to life.”

“Working with Flume on ‘Say Nothing’ has been a really incredible experience,” added MAY-A. “I’m such a big fan of Harley’s so it’s unbelievable to be in a position to create music with someone I look up to and can learn so much from. His creative process is a really inspiring thing to be a part of.”

Now, it’s been confirmed that the track serves as the first taste of Flume’s long-awaited third album, with Palaces set to officially arrive on May 20th, two years after the seeds for its creation were first sown.

Though its his first full-length record since 2016’s Skin, Flume hasn’t been sitting on his creative hands since then, having released a pair of companion EPs to his last record, the Quits EP with Reo Cragun, and 2019’s Hi This Is Flume mixtape.

According to the tracklist of the record, it appears to be one of his most collaborative releases to date, with Palaces seeing Flume work alongside the likes of Oklou, LAUREL, Virgen Maria, Caroline Polachek, Emma Louise, and Damon Albarn, in addition to previous collaborator Kučka.

Though no local tour dates have been announced as yet (Flume had initially been planned to appear at the 2020 edition of Splendour at The Grass prior to its cancellation), he will instead be performing at a number of US festivals in the coming months, including the likes of Coachella this April.

Flume’s “Say Nothing” is out now, while Palaces will be released on May 20th, with pre-orders available now.

Flume – Palaces tracklist

1. Highest Building (feat. Oklou)
2. Say Nothing (feat. MAY-A)
4. ESCAPE (feat. Kučka) with Quiet Bison
5. I Can’t Tell (feat. LAUREL)
6. Get U
7. Jasper’s Song
8. Only Fans (feat. Virgen Maria)
9. Hollow (feat. Emma Louise)
10. Love Light
11. Sirens (feat. Caroline Polachek)
12. Go
13. Palaces (feat. Damon Albarn)