Home Music Music News

Augie March Announce New ‘On The Quiet’ Live Album

Augie March are set to release their first-ever live album with a recording of the Brisbane leg of their 2019 ‘On The Quiet’ tour.

Image of Augie March


Over a year on from wrapping up the latest edition of their ‘On The Quiet’ tour, beloved indie-rock outfit Augie March are set to release a live album of their 2019 Brisbane performance.

Announcing the news on social media this morning, the group noted that 2020 was a “strangely productive time for its inhabitants after the initial shock of lockdown”. While Glenn Richards worked on solo material, other members found time to busy themselves with various tasks during the past year. Ultimately, one of the opportunities that presented itself was the chance to “peruse the archives”, with the group emerging with their first live release.

Recorded at Brisbane’s famed Old Museum concert hall on August 17th, 2019, the performance took place as part of the band’s ‘On The Quiet’ tour from that same year.

Originally taking place in 2009, the stripped-back live format allowed Augie March to perform their “acclaimed repertoire with laser-like focus and strident minimalism”, much to the delight of fans. Reviving the concept a decade later, the band hit the road once again in August of 2019 (and in December for an encore run) to much the same response.

Arriving on February 5th, the live record features 15 tracks ranging from rarities to crowd favourites performed by five musicians who have spent more than 20 years soundtracking the lives of thousands with their impeccable performance style.

“We had a seriously good run with the On The Quiet shows in 2019 and were gratified by the turn out and the response to the sets,” explained Glenn Richards. “We love playing this style of show, the songs get their due but there’s little, if any loss of power, it’s just a different kind.”

The new live album is limited to 500 copies, and features hand drawn illustrations by Sandra Eterovic and Madeleine Griffith.

Augie March’s On The Quiet: Live will be released on February 5th, 2021, with pre-orders available now.

Augie March – On The Quiet tracklist:

1. Sunstroke House
2. The Third Drink
3. The Cold Acre
4. Hobart Obit
5. Rich Girl
6. The Slant
7. When I Am Old
8. Just Passing Through
9. Marienbad
10. Maroondah Reservoir
11. One Crowded Hour
12. This Train Will Be Taking No Passengers
13. Bottle Baby
14. There Is No Such Place
15. Here Comes The Night