Home Music Music News

ARIA Awards 2017: Gang Of Youths, Amy Shark Lead Nominations

A.B. Original and Paul Kelly are also up for multiple awards.

The nominations for the 2017 ARIA Awards were announced this morning, with Gang of Youths leading the pack with eight nods — including Album of the Year, Best Group and Best Rock Album — ahead of Amy Shark who picked up six for her debut EP Night Thinker and hip-hop duo A.B. Original who are up for five awards, including Album of the Year, for their debut Reclaim Australia. In that field, they’ll go up against veteran singer-songwriter Paul Kelly, who landed his first ever number one this year with 23rd full-length Life is Fine.

The winners will be announced on Tuesday, November 28th at a televised ceremony. View the full list of nominations below.

Album Of The Year
AB Original, Reclaim Australia
Amy Shark, Night Thinker
Gang Of Youths, Go Farther In Lightness
Illy, Two Degrees
Paul Kelly, Life Is Fine

Best Male Artist
DD Dumbo
Dan Sultan
Paul Kelly
Vance Joy

Best Female Artist
Amy Shark
Jessica Mauboy
Julia Jacklin
Meg Mac

Best Dance Release
Dom Dolla and Torren Foot, Be Randy
Jagwar Ma Every, Now & Then
Peking Duk, Stranger
Pnau, Chameleon
The Kite String Tangle, The Kite String Tangle

Best Group
AB Original, Reclaim Australia
Gang Of Youths, Go Farther In Lightness
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, Flying Microtonal Banana
Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, Skeleton Tree
Peking Duk, Stranger

Breakthrough Artist
A.B Original
Amy Shark
Dean Lewis
Tash Sultana
Tkay Maidza

Best Pop Release
Amy Shark, “Night Thinker”
Dean Lewis, “Waves”
Jessica Mauboy, “Fallin”
Sia, “The Greatest”, featuring Kendrick Lamar
Vera Blue, “Perennial”

Best Urban Album
AB Original, Reclaim Australia
Illy, Two Degrees
REMI, Divas & Demons
Thundamentals, Everyone We Know
Tkay Maidza, TKAY


Best Independent Release
AB Original, “Reclaim Australia”
Dan Sultan, “Killer”
Sia, “The Greatest”, featuring Kendrick Lamar
Tash Sultana, “Notion”
Vance Joy, “Lay It On Me”

Best Rock Album
Dan Sultan, Killer
Dune Rats, The Kids Will Know It’s Bullshit
Gang Of Youths, Go Farther In Lightness
Polish Club, Alrighty Alrighty
The Preatures, Girlhood

Best Adult Contemporary Album
Bernard Fanning, Brutal Dawn
D.D Dumbo, Utopia Defeated
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Skeleton Tree
Paul Kelly, Life Is Fine
Pete Murray, Camacho

Best Country Album
Kasey Chambers, Dragonfly
Lee Kernaghan, The 25th Anniversary Album
O’Shea, 61-615
Shane Nicholson, Love And Blood
The McClymonts, Endless

Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Album
Airbourne, Breaking Outta Hell
Frenzal Rhomb, Hi-Vis High Tea
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, Murder Of The Universe
Northlane, Mesmer
Sleepmakeswaves, Made of Breath Only

Best Blues & Roots Album
All Our Exes Live In Texas When We Fall
Archie Roach Let Love Rule
Busby Marou Postcards From The Shell House
Paul Kelly & Charlie Owen Death’s Dateless Night
Tash Sultana Notion

Best Children’s Album
Jimmy Barnes, Och Aye the G’Nu!
Lah-Lah, Having Fun!
Peter Combe, Live It Up
The Idea of North, Lior & Elena Kats-Chernin, A Piece of Quiet
The Wiggles, The Wiggles Duets


Best Video
Amy Shark, “Drive You Mad”
Bliss N Eso, “Moments”, featuring Gavin James
Client Liaison, “A Foreign Affair”
Client Liaison, “Off White Limousine”
Dean Lewis, Waves
Gang Of Youths, The Deepest Sighs, the Frankest Shadows
Illy, “You Say When”, featuring Marko Penn
Jessica Mauboy, “Fallin”
Kirin J Callinan, “S.A.D”
Sia, “The Greatest”, featuring Kendrick Lamar

Best Australian Live Act
Client Liaison
Gang Of Youths
Jessica Mauboy
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds
Peking Duk
Tash Sultana
Violent Soho

Apple Music Song Of The Year
Amy Shark, “Adore”
Bliss N Eso, “Moments”, featuring Gavin James
Dean Lewis, “Waves”
Guy Sebastian, “Set In Stone”
Illy, “Catch 22”, featuring Anne-Marie
Jessica Mauboy, “Fallin”
Peking Duk, “Stranger”, featuring Elliphant
Pnau, “Chameleon”
Sia, “The Greatest”, featuring Kendrick Lamar
Starley, “Call On Me (Ryan Riback Remix)”

Best International Artist
Adele, 25
Bruno Mars, 24K Magic
Ed Sheeran, ÷
Harry Styles, Harry Styles
Kendrick Lamar, DAMN and Untitled Unmastered
Lorde, Melodrama
Metallica, Hardwired…To Self-Destruct
Shawn Mendes, Illuminate
The Rolling Stones, Blue & Lonesome
The Weeknd, Starboy

Music Teacher of the Year
Julie Layt (Cresent Lagoon State School, Rockhampton QLD)
Stephen Mcewan (Bellarine Secondary College, Drysdale VIC)
Renee McCarthy (Woodcroft College, Morphett Vale SA)
Alex Manton (Asquith Girls High School, Asquith NSW)

Outstanding Digital Service
Apple Music