Home Music Music News

Alex the Astronaut Details Long-Awaited Debut Album, ‘The Theory of Absolutely Nothing’

After years of EPs and singles, Alex the Astronaut is gearing up to finally release her debut full-length record this August.

At long last, Alex the Astronaut is set to release her debut album.


It’s been a long time coming, but this August will finally see Alex the Astronaut release her debut album, The Theory of Absolutely Nothing.

Ever since Alex Lynn introduced her Alex the Astronaut project to the world back in 2016, the music-loving project have adored her story-telling lyrics, powerful delivery, and gorgeous melodies.

While a handful of singles and EPs have arrived over the years, Alex the Astronaut has long remained silent as to when fans may get a chance to finally see a full-length release shared under her name. Now, Alex is ready to share The Theory of Absolutely Nothing this August.

“Releasing my first album feels like I’m graduating from junior musician to proper musician,” Alex explains. “I have so many mind maps and brainstorming pages in my writing book where I was trying to work out what I wanted it all to look like.

“I wanted the songs to mean something to me, to sit in my values, and I also wanted them to be a group of songs that told stories that meant something to the people that heard them. I feel really proud of all of these ten songs, it feels like I’ve put a little bit of myself and the world I see in all of them. I’ve spent hundreds of hours thinking about writing them and I’m pretty nervous to share it all with everyone.

“I’ve called it The Theory of Absolutely Nothing because I feel like the Einstein quote ‘the more I learn, the more I realise how much I don’t know’ really started to make sense to me during this writing process and apart of that comes through in a different way in each song.”

Releasing on August 21st (funnily enough, just six days before the tenth anniversary of Children Collide’s Theory of Everything), The Theory of Absolutely Nothing is set to include a number of tracks shared by Alex the Astronaut over the years, including “Happy Song”, “I Think You’re Great”, “Split the Sky”, and “I Like to Dance”.

Additionally, the record will also include its latest single, “Lost”, which premiered on triple j’s Good Nights on Thursday evening.

“‘Lost’ is about trying to find your way and fix everything, and the moment where you’ve exhausted all options and have to accept the fact that there is so much that is completely out of your control: sometimes you will just feel lost,” Alex explains of the song.

“The song is pivoted around a moment of change when someone is walking new ground and they really don’t know what’s to come.

“For me it’s one of those ‘one goes out, one comes in’ times when you lose what you hoped things would be like but you get to move through a different world that maybe will show you something you didn’t know you would see.”

Alex the Astronaut was set to kick off an Australian tour back in April, but due to COVID-19 restrictions, these dates have been cancelled. She’s currently scheduled to perform at Splendour in the Grass this October, but further tour details will likely be announced as soon as it is safe to do so.

Alex the Astronaut’s The Theory of Absolutely Nothing is out on August 21st, with pre-orders available now.

Image of the new album by Alex the Astronaut

Alex the Astronaut – The Theory of Absolutely Nothing Tracklist

1. “Happy Song”
2. “Lost”
3. “Split the Sky”
4. “I Like to Dance”
5. “I Didn’t Know”
6. “Caught in the Middle”
7. “Christmas in July”
8. “Banksia”
9. “I Think You’re Great”
10. “San Francisco”
11. “Outro”