Home Music Music Features

Best New Zealand Music of the Week: April 8th-14th

Stay up to date with all the standout tracks released last week with Rolling Stone AU/NZ’s weekly roundup

Phoebe Rings

Phoebe Rings

Frances Carter

Every week, Rolling Stone AU/NZ dives into our favourite New Zealand music released from the seven days. Today, explore fresh tracks from Phoebe Rings, Dbldbl, Carb on Carb, Jason Parker, Chances Are, Lil Bubblegum, Mitch James, and more. 

Phoebe Rings – “Mandarin Tree” 

As summer gives way to cooler Autumn days, Tāmaki Makaurau’s dream pop quartet Phoebe Rings welcome in the season with a burst of orange in their sweet new single “Mandarin Tree”. The dreamy, jazz-inflected instrumentation indeed feels like a pick me up, with Crystal Choi’s soothing vocals singing about building a fruitful life during a housing crisis, falling leaves, and changing skies.

Dbldbl – “Fakey feat. Randa”

Dbldbl aka Liam Dargaville teams up with fellow Tāmaki Makaurau hip hop force Randa  for this bouncy new single about “feelings of being an imposter versus feeling myself”. Sports Team add their magic touch with a colourful and funky video perfectly matched to the song’s vibe.

Carb on Carb – “I Know The End 2” 

Emo-punk duo Carb On Carb shared the final single upcoming album Take Time, out May 17th via Papaiti Records. The album’s reflective closer features Sturly on lead vocals “for the first time in ages.”

Jason Parker – “Crash”

Local musician Jason Parker opens a new chapter with the bold pop sounds of  “Crash”, an honest track inspired by a sudden break-up. Arriving with a stunning music video shot in the alleyways of Osaka, Japan, “Crash” sets the tone for Parker’s upcoming EP, Fairy Bread. “Fairy Bread is about trying to be the best version of yourself. There’s love, hope and the Crash. Let’s dance,” says Parker. 

Chances Are – Asleep At the Wheel of Love

Chances Are (with members from Family Band, Trust Punks, Cool Cult and Long Distance Runner) have shared their debut album, Asleep At the Wheel of Love, via Sunreturn. The trio—Alexander Grant, Lliam Powell, and Maté Vella—delivers six punchy post-punk tracks, including previous singles like “Born Yesterday” and “Peach.”.

Grant shares: “I think the album certainly represents our nebulous creative relationship. In stops and starts we’ve been making music together for close to 15 years now, so we have an understanding of where we’d like ideas to take us, but needless to say we’re still surprised that we always end up somewhere different. Doors are opened and remain so.” 

lilbubblegum – “SCRAPS ON” ft. Rico Nasty

Fresh off his single “af1 2.0” with viral star YUNG GRAVY, West Auckland rapper lilbubblegum teams up with Rico Nasty for their latest track, “SCRAPS ON”. A crowd favourite at his live shows, lilbubblegum clarifies the song isn’t about “tryna encourage people to go pick a fight with someone on the street or anything but the song is meant to be about letting it out in a live show.” 

Mitch James – “Bird in a Hurricane”

Auckland singer-songwriter Mitch James has returned to the music scene with a powerful new single, “Bird in a Hurricane”.The track, recorded in Thailand, is an emotionally charged anthem that explores themes of love, support, and resilience amidst adversity.

Earth Tongue – “Grave Pressure” 

Earth Tongue have broken out of the grave and straight into our ears with their explosive new single, “Grave Pressure”. The gorgeously creepy music video from the world-conquering fuzz rock duo, filmed in Berlin after their recent Europe tour, takes cues from B-horror movies of the 1970s and 80s. 

DARTZ – “Dangerous Day to Be a Cold One” 

The irrepressible punk crew from Wellington have gifted fans with a rowdy new music video for the album’s rollicking title track. Directed by Tom Grut, it’s a wild, beer-soaked ride. 

Voom – “Martin Phillipps” 

Fresh off announcing an upcoming tour with Reb Fountain and Vera Ellen (talk about dream gig bills), Auckland indie rock band Voom have released a new single honouring The Chills legend Martin Phillipps. The track has received Phillipps’ seal of approval himself.“Buzz Moller has written an excellent (and weird) song about me and my journeys. It is great fun and I feel honoured!” he says.

Crowded House – “Teenage Summer” 

Crowded House keeps the momentum going with ‘Teenage Summer” set to feature on their much-anticipated eighth studio album, Gravity Stairs. This fresh offering gives fans a second glimpse into the forthcoming album, following the release of their previous single “Oh Hi”.