Home Music Music Features

Best Australian Music of the Week: June 24th-June 30th

Stay up to date with all the standout tracks released last week with Rolling Stone AU/NZ’s weekly roundup

Vetta Borne

Vetta Borne

Jae Besorio

Every week, Rolling Stone AU/NZ highlights our favourite Australian music released over the past seven days – and trust us, last week was jam-packed.

Explore previous coverage on Amy Shark, The Kid LAROI, Miss Kaninna, and Hiatus Kaiyote, and dive into fresh tracks from Fanning Dempsey National Park, Allday, Becca Hatch, Gold Fang, Squid The Kid, Little Quirks, Vetta Borne, Emilee South, Tash, Have A Good Day, Amalia, Evie Lulu, Andrew Farriss, Slowly Slowly, Dirty Three, and Ben Swissa below.

Fanning Dempsey National Park – “The Deluge”

Fanning Dempsey National Park, Australia’s new super duo featuring Paul Dempsey and Bernard Fanning, drop the title track “The Deluge” from their highly anticipated album out next month.

The pair share, “Delving deeper into this new project with the title track single The Deluge, we can continue to share the fun we’ve been having creating this album. If we’re having fun now, wait until you hear the rest of the record and we bring it live on stage, with a brand new band, for the tour in October!”

Squid The Kid – “SPEED” 

Does anything ever come out of a late-night TikTok scroll? For South-East Melbourne’s Squid The Kid, it did. He stumbled upon a genre-bending fusion of jazz and drill during a bedtime scroll, and the results on “SPEED” speak for themselves.

“I stumbled across a jazz band playing a drill song. I was amazed at how good it sounded and the fusion between the two genres. Because of the jazz elements I incorporate in my music also, I thought about giving this ‘Jazz Drill’ genre a try, sent the TikTok off to my band, and away we went,” Squid The Kid shares.

Emilee South – LUXURY 

After releasing several soaring rock singles (and some seriously impressive roller-blade themed music videos), Emilee South has unleashed her debut album, LUXURY. This electric 9-track collection tackles topics like privilege, capitalism, and feminism with South’s signature tongue-in-cheek style.

Allday – “Tarmeka” 

Australian rapper Allday builds the hype for his eagerly anticipated fifth studio album, The Necklace, with this smooth and melodic cut about the music industry, success, and mental health. 

Becca Hatch – “Crash” 

Rising R&B star Becca Hatch pivots away from the catchy club beats she’s lended her ethereal vocals to so well on “Crash”, a slow and slinky ballad elevated by honest writing. 

Gold Fang – “OTW” 

Gold Fang can do no wrong. The Trinidadian-born Australian artist’s latest release blends woozy R&B with dancehall and Afrobeats, demanding that you spend time with your loved ones.

Little Quirks – “Caught in June” 

A gorgeous song with beautiful and big harmonies from the Central Coast band Little Quirks with the bittersweet theme of being stuck in a moment in time. The DIY music video filmed on a camcorder is a cute touch to the heartfelt release. 

Vetta Borne – Afterlife

Performing at this year’s BIGSOUND showcase, Melbourne’s Vetta Borne has made an impact with the release of her new five-track EP, Afterlife. It’s electric, confident, and full of bangers. 

Tash – “Supersonic” 

“Supersonic” introduces Tash’s talent for soulful and fresh sounding R&B, with her silky vocals front and centre. Stay tuned for more to come from the rising Sydney/Los Angeles-based artist. 

Have A Good Day – “Punch-Drunk in Love”

Aussie pop duo Have A Good Day are back with “Punch-Drunk in Love”, a slice of dreamy pop infused with 80’s synth flair that’s all about the rush of young love.

Amalia – “Silly Cliche” 

Last week seemed to be all about new love, as Amalia also explored the overwhelming feelings of early relationship stages. The Melbourne artist’s rendition is sweet and swirling, anchored by the depth of her strong vocals. 

Evie Lulu – “Monday” 

Naarm-based singer-songwriter Evie Lulu has created a tailor-made anthem for your weekly Monday (or Tuesday) blues (tears optional). 

Andrew Farriss – “Something Stronger” 

It’s all cheap whiskey, burning rubber, and the thrill of chasing dreams on “Something Stronger”, Andrew Farriss’s new country-rock classic. 

Slowly Slowly – “Gimme the Wrench”

Looking for a pump-up anthem? Slowly Slowly have you covered with “Gimme The Wrench”. Written by frontman Ben Stewart during a highly stressful period of life, this new single combines the metaphor of choosing the difficult path with catchy, arena-ready melodies.

Dirty Three – Love Changes Everything

In case you missed the memo, iconic Australian rock acts are making a comeback this year. Alongside the likes of Cold Chisel and The Saints, Dirty Three are leading the charge with Love Changes Everything, their first album in 12 years, out now.

Ben Swissa – “Angel” 

Ben Swissa is rising in the scene, currently touring with NZ’s unstoppable Six60 on their sold-out regional Australian tour. Last week marked the debut of his official video for his swooning debut track “Angel”, impressing with a simple one-shot approach – proving that sometimes less really is more.